Emergency Management Agency


Rick White, Director


P.O. Box 60
Morganfield, KY 42437

Office: 1-270-389-3975
Fax: 1-270-389-4993









Our mission is to minimize the effects of future disasters through mitigation, planning, and training. This is accomplished through the coordination of response agencies during a disaster and/or recovery event, and through public education and awareness for disaster preparedness.



Union County Emergency Management is the agency of county government with primary responsibility and authority for the planning and execution of all disaster preparedness, response, and recovery operations. Emergency Management is also responsible for the preparation and maintenance of the County/City Emergency Operations Plan, which can be viewed at the local EMA Office.

Committee Representation for County/City Government

The Union County Emergency Management Director presently serves on the following committees:

* Area 3 WMD/Hazardous Materials Team (Taskforce 3) Board of Directors

* Region 3 Hospital Bio-Terrorism Task Force Board of Directors

* Union County Fire/Rescue Association Board of Directors

* Kentucky WMD Regional Response Team Advisory Council

* Union County Local DES Organization

* Union County Local Emergency Planning Committee

* Ohio Valley Interoperable Communications Consortium

* Regional Citizens Corp Advisory Council

* Highway Safety Taskforce

* Chair, "Funding and Grants Committee" for Kentucky WMD Regional Response Council

* Member of KEMA (Kentucky Emergency Management Association)

Educational Programs

Educational programs on Earthquake Preparedness, Severe Weather Preparedness, and Flooding Preparedness are available upon request by calling the Emergency Management office at 270-389-3975. 

Hazard Mitigation

Hazard mitigation is another aspect of Union County's emergency management program. Union County is 1 of 7 counties that participate within the Green River Area Development District (GRADD) to formulate a "Regional Hazardous Mitigation Plan."

HAZMAT/WMD Regional Team

Hazmat Regional Team FleetIn the seven county Green River area, including Daviess, Henderson, Hancock, Mclean, Ohio, Union, and Webster counties. Each Emergency Management office was issued a trailer equipped with response gear, monitoring equipment, and decontamination equipment.

This team known as "Task Force 3" is manned entirely by local volunteers who are trained for hazardous materials and weapons of mass destruction (WMD) response. These individuals are capable and ready to respond Statewide, if necessary, to aid local governments with the following:

* Mass decontamination of people

* Identifying unknown or suspected hazardous materials involved in an incident; and determining and implementing appropriate remedial actions to control or stabilize the incident.

* Monitoring, sampling, decontaminating, neutralizing, and "plug & patch" operations necessary to stop or curtail leaks or spills of hazardous materials, and similar activities normally performed by Hazmat teams.

* Removing victims trapped in hazardous atmospheres to safe areas where local emergency medical services can provide appropriate care and medical treatment.

* Consulting with appropriate officials of the National Incident Command System (NIMS) with regard to WMD/Hazmat operations; recommending appropriate public and response personnel protective measures; and similar recommendations relating to effective response to and the stabilization of the incident.

Emergency Service Partners in Union County

Fire/Rescue Departments:

* Sturgis Volunteer Fire Department

* Sturgis Rescue Squad

* Waverly Volunteer Fire Department

* Whispering Meadows Volunteer Fire/Rescue Department

* Union County Volunteer Fire Department

* Uniontown Rescue Squad

* Sullivan Community Volunteer Fire Department

* Henshaw Volunteer Fire Department

* Morganfield Rescue Squad

* Morganfield Fire Department

* Uniontown City Fire Department

Emergency Medical Services:

* Union County Ambulance Service

Law Enforcement:

* Union County Sheriff's Department

* Morganfield City Police Department

* Sturgis Police Department

* Uniontown City Police Department

Public Health:

* Union County Health Department

Rick White.jpg